The Big Move

As most of you know, I recently uprooted my life in Seattle, WA to make the big move to Boise, ID. If you didn’t know, take a peek at my About Me to learn more! The decision to leave my family, friends and job behind was tough, but I knew it was time to step out of my comfort zone and pursue something much greater in life.

Let’s take a few steps back…

It was a warm summer day in Seattle. My roommate and I woke up and said lets have a free spirit day. This means no plans, we were just going to see where the day took us. We decided that the neighborhood of Ballard sounded like a good time. As we were getting ready to leave, my co-worker texted me and said she was with a big group of friends doing an Urban Hike through Seattle (AKA Beer Crawl) and there was this boy she wanted to introduce me to (which happened to be her now Fiancés best friend from home). I kindly declined meeting this boy, because I was on the Beyoncé Single Ladies bandwagon and did NOT want a relationship for the summer, but said that we would stop by to say hello to her. We showed up to Holy Mountain Brewery where this bubbly, ball of energy guy walks out of the bathroom and says, “Hi! I’m Bryant!” and gave me a big hug. First thought was whoa, I don’t even know you, why are you hugging me and the second thought was, wow, you are very handsome. I went and found my co-worker and to no surprise, she says, “That’s the guy I wanted to introduce you to!” We parted ways for that afternoon, but later on we ended up meeting back up.

The next morning we had breakfast and bloody mary’s at Alki Cafe right on the beach; although we barely touched our breakfast because we were a tad bit hungover and we were caught up in conversation. The next couple hours or so we sat on Alki Beach talking about anything and everything in between. It honestly felt like I had known him my entire life, although it hadn’t even been 24 hours since we met. In this very instance, my heart knew that he was something special, but Beyoncé kept playing in my head and I tried to fight it.

Our time together came to an end when he had to get to the airport to fly back home to Boise, Idaho. Before we parted ways, he asked me, “If I come back, will you hang out with me again?” And of course I said, yes.

It is the most unsettling feeling when you have this strong, instant connection with someone and then you don’t know when you will ever see them again.

5 days later…

I am sitting at my desk at work when the front desk lets me know I have a delivery that img_1488needs to be picked up. I was slightly confused because I knew I hadn’t ordered anything, but thought nothing of it. When I got to the front desk, I had the most beautiful vase filled with Sunflowers (my favorite flowers) with a note that said, “Because roses are overrated. Have a great weekend! -Bryant” Instant butterflies. This was the most surprising and thoughtful thing a guy has ever done for me and I met him one time! He even remembered me talking on the beach about how I hated roses because they were so overrated and cliché. After I sent the thank you text, he asked me what I was doing that night. It was Friday, I had no plans for the weekend other than a Brooks sponsored PR invite Saturday afternoon that I was going to live Snapchat. He says, “Wanna hang out tonight? I’ll be at the airport in Seattle at 7pm if you want to hang out.” More confused than anything, it took me a while to realize that he had bought a flight to surprise me and hang out for the weekend and my co-worker was in on it the entire time!

Now, if it were any other guy in the world who did this I would think he was crazy and probably a stage 5 clinger. But with him, it was so right. Long story short, that weekend we spent together was the beginning of our relationship. I knew that Beyoncé Single Ladies would be coming to an end and it was time to skip to the song, Crazy In Love.

Over the next 7 months, we would fly thousands of miles to visit, talk on the phone during 2my commute home from work, go to my best friends wedding, Watershed at The Gorge, visit his hometown of Bend, Oregon, spend my golden 25th birthday in Seattle and going to a Seahawks game with my parents, another surprise on Christmas that my parents were in on, spend New Year’s Eve with his family, and build our relationship foundation upon trust and communication. Without the long distance, we wouldn’t have a strong foundation like we do.

January 26th 2017.

I packed my Seattle life into a truck and a trailer, and hit the road with my parents to Boise, Idaho. I would not have been able to make this move without the love and support of my parents, my family and my friends. Thank you to everyone who supports our love.

With my backstory now out of the way, it is time for me to start Exploring Idaho!

One thought on “The Big Move

  1. Kim Ashmore says:

    Well since I am the first post to your blog, I could listen to this story over and over. I look forward to sharing some new adventures with Bryant and you in Boise.

    Love Dad

    Like

Leave a Reply

