Longdrop Cider

With the weather approaching about 55º yesterday, I decided to go on a hike and explore Camel’s Back Park and some of the trails around the area. This warmer weather has me excited and ready, more than anything, for summer. After hiking around for a couple hours, I needed to quench my thirst so I decided to check another place off the list. This time, it was a new cider tap room that recently opened on Capital Street, downtown Boise, called Longdrop Cider.

It is family owned an operated and I had the pleasure of chatting with one of the owners, Chris Blanchard who is so friendly and accommodating. He is from Olympia, WA which just happens to be about 25min north of Centralia, WA where I grew up! Small world. The apples they use are from Idaho and the Northwest which is great they want to keep everything so local.

The tap room has an indoor area as well as patio area on the street so you can enjoy the

img_5357

Hank enjoying sunshine and cider. In his own words, “woof!”

sunshine here soon! They are pet friendly which allowed me to bring Hank and even had a sweet rescue pit bull cider dog named Panache.

To no surprise, I went for the sample tray which featured all 7 of their ciders on tap to try all they had to offer. My favorite was the Hoppily Ever Apple which is a hopped cider. Payette Brewing let Longdrop experiment with a Citra Hop which gives off a crisp and floral flavor to the cider. This is definitely going to be in my summer rotation of beers and ciders. Another cider that was different from anything I have ever had was Vanilla Honey. A cider on deck is Mango Habenero which I am pumped to try!

While I was there, I got some insider information that they are opening a food truck that will have gluten free options to snack on as you sip on the cider. The food truck should be open by next week sometime and I will definitely be going back to try it out!

A genius feature they have at the tap room is something called Taplister. Because they have a digital menu, Taplister gives you a real time look at what is on tap and can be found on their website. No more needing to call to see what is on tap or being disappointed if your cider is not there. It is right at your finger tips!

You can find canned and bottled ciders in Albertsons stores statewide in Idaho as well as select ciders available at Winco, Fred Meyer, Whole Foods, The Boise Co-op, etc. For all my friends and family back home, you can find Longdrop Cider on tap at some bars in Portland and Seattle!

 
If you are in the Boise area, make sure to give them a visit and a follow on Social Media!

 
Twitter: /longdropcider

Instagram: /longdropcider/

Facebook: /longdropcider

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

