My Latest Adventures

It’s been a while since I have wrote on the blog, so it’s about damn time I fill you in on what has been going on!

Thursday: Bryant, Brennan and I went to Edge Brewing Company for dinner and beers IMG_5385(duh). We love going to Edge because it is close to our place and the food is always great. I have been in this buffalo chicken phase lately, so I decided to give it a try at Edge and it did not disappoint! Along with that, I got a sample tray to try a variety of their beers. My favorites were the Blackwater Imperial Stout and the Hopenaro IPA. It is made with habanero peppers and gives you a little spice which is refreshing. Once we got home from edge, I checked my weekly email from Boise Beer Buddies to find that my blog had been featured for a post about Longdrop Cider! This was a very exciting moment for me. I made this blog mainly just for me to explore my new home and write about awesome local businesses along the way. Never in a million years would I think that my little blog would be featured in something as big as this! Boise Beer Buddies is an awesome place to get the latest news about all the local breweries and events going on in the community. I’d definitely check ’em out and subscribe to get the weekly emails. You can also become a Boise Beer Buddy with memberships available for $20. You receive beer specials and discounts at a ton of local breweries, Buddy pint nights, Buddy event VIP invites, swag giveaways, and more!

Friday: Finally! Bryant closed a big deal at work so we decided it was a good excuse to celebrate and drink beer. Trust me, I can always find an excuse to celebrate and FullSizeRenderdrink beer. The weather was warm (ish) and sunny so we headed to PreFunk Beer Bar which is one of my favorite spots downtown Boise. They have one of the best outdoor seating areas, pet friendly and a ton of beers and ciders on tap. The tap list is a little overwhelming for a girl who can never make a decision, but I love the variety they have. After PreFunk, we headed right next door to Woodland Empire Ale Craft. This was a brewery that I have not been to, so I was excited to check it off this list. They have a sweet spot with an outdoor area, arcade games inside, darts, and food from Manfred’s that had really, really good appetizers. Manfred’s is located in Woodland Empire’s building. You can order from the tasting room, in their restaurant, or get it to go! We shared the fries and croquettas. I was a first timer trying croquettas and I have to say, I’m hooked! They are filled with roasted garlic masa and as described from their website, 10 orbs of love. I couldn’t agree more. After that, we decided to keep it classy and head to The Buffalo Club which is walking distance to our townhouse. The Buffalo Club is a country bar that plays live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday starting at 9pm. Good mix of oldies as well as newer country hits. This may be one of the most fun spots around. If you love country music and dancing, this is your spot.

Saturday: Bry went golfing in the morning while I went wedding dress shopping with a friend of mine who is getting married in Boise in June of 2018. We started the morning out by grabbing coffee and smoothies at Corner Bakery at The Village at Meridian. After that, we headed out towards Garden City where dress shopping was a little too successful when she fell in love with 5 dresses! This wedding shop had the nicest staff and the most beautiful dresses. Later that day, we had to be grownups and go grocery shopping. But before that, we went to one of my favorite sushi places, Dharma Sushi. Located right downtown. You walk in and place your order on a screen and take a seat! Easy. Their appetizers and sushi is some of the best I have ever had. They even have some rolls that are not so traditional with cilantro or bacon (YUM).

Sunday: With the weather in the 60’s and the sun shining, I made my first trek up Table
Rock! I have to admit, I felt a little out of shape for the 3 mile hike, but it is well worth the sweat (a lot of sweat) and tears (not really). Once you get to the top, there is a giant cross that looks over the entire Treasure Valley. If you are feeling daring, you can sit on the edge of the cliff and let your feet dangle over the edge as you breathe in that clean, crisp, springtime air. This was my first time IMG_5463up Table Rock, and will not be my last! I find it funny that every time we do something like hiking, we always end up drinking beer. Never fails. Sunday Funday was no different! Once we got done with hiking, we ended up heading out to Powderhaus Brewing Company in Garden City to keep enjoying the sunshine. They have a couple outdoor spots with plenty of chairs, corn hole and are dog friendly as you can see from the photo on the right. Hank loved being able to go there with us and soak up some rays as well. My favorite beer they had on tap was a Haus Hot Beer. Smooth beer with a hint of spicy peppers that really makes this one of a kind.

Monday: I ventured out to Awakenings Coffee House which is right down the street from our place. This is a big space with plenty of seating from tables and chairs to comfy couches! Delicious coffee, good food, even better atmosphere! It is locally owned by Jeff, who I had the pleasure of meeting today as well as his wife. Their mission is to donate all proceeds after costs, to charities and ministries who are helping women and children in crisis as well as enriching the community through love, quality coffee, and servant-hearted leadership. It is nice knowing that the money you pay for coffee is going to a great cause. I will definitely be back, and suggest you check ’em out too!

Well, that is it for now. Until next time!

One thought on “My Latest Adventures

Leave a Reply

